John Mayer – Edge Of Desire

29 Apr

As a kid, I looked up to so many different rappers and often times found myself in awe from their music. I wanted to be as creative as they were. The music took me to a place within myself that I probably would never had discovered on my own had it not been for certain songs or albums. I found places inside myself that made me realize that I too had pictures worth painting via music. Throughout the course of my career, I’ve created my own audible “art gallery” portraying these places. Some are painted from the heart, some from the mind, some from the imagination, and some from the soul.

Unfortunately, rappers of today leave me with nothing to feed off of. There are no more keys to unlock the doors that I know still remain unopened within me. There is a list as to whats wrong with rap music in this generation that we could all sit and sort through. We don’t really have to do all that right now though. My main issue, as I stated, is the lack of inspiration. NOBODY in rap inspires me. Name all your current favorites, from the Wayne lovers down to the Immortal Technique followers… they are all missing something!

There ARE some artists in Hip-Hop that still spark creativity in me within a production/arrangement light, but nobody has really shown me anything new to where I can look at rap in awe again. Sometimes I get criticized for not supporting the starving artists. From the guy in the parking lot asking me “Say homie, you like rap music? Fuck wit me.” to the guy on Myspace who lazily blasts bulk comments that say “I just uploaded 3 new tracks on muh page. Slide by and show ya boi some luv.” Don’t get me wrong, I would love for every one of these guys to become successful at what they’re passionate in doing… it’s just that personally I’ve slumped into a depression. I’m not excited anymore.

Why am I saying all of this if my post title is about a John Mayer song? That’s an appropriate question to ask. The answer lies in his music and in mine. His music inspires me. I’m finding those “new places” again. I am in awe.

I’ve noticed a huge change in my music. New influences have snuck their way in. The core still remains Hip-Hop but it’s been fused together with new genres. Going far beyond the routine of “Rap song with a nice sounding singy chorus”, my new music is evolving into something that will hopefully unlock the doors that are hiding inside those of you who already listen to my music and also to those who will discover my music in their own perfect timing.

Of all the artists that I now listen to, John Mayer is the favorite. Right up there with Tupac as far as I’m concerned. If given the opportunity, I’d put Lively-Hood on hold for another year just to study new aspects of the craft that this dude clearly has mastered. As polished as I may seem to some of my long-time listeners, I’m still in training. Beautiful music is my ultimate goal.

Fuck wit me.

Young and full of running,
tell me where is that taking me
just a great figure eight
or a tiny infinity.

Love is really nothing
but a dream that keeps waking me.
For all of my trying
we still end up dying;
how can it be?

Don’t say a word; just come over and lie here with me
’cause I’m just about to set fire to everything I see.

I want you so bad I’ll go back on the things I believe.
There, I just said it; I’m scared you’ll forget about me.

So young and full of running
all the way to the edge of desire.
Steady my breathing, silently screaming
I have to have you now.

Wired and I’m tired;
think I’ll sleep in my clothes on the floor.
Or maybe this mattress will spin on its axis
and find me on yours.

Don’t say a word;just come over and lie here with me
’cause I’m just about to set fire to everything I see.

I want you so bad I’ll go back on the things I believe.
There, I just said it; I’m scared you’ll forget about me.

Don’t say a word;just come over and lie here with me
’cause I’m just about to set fire to everything I see.

I want you so bad I’ll go back on the things I believe.
There, I just said it;I’m scared you’ll forget about me.

8 Responses to “John Mayer – Edge Of Desire”

  1. Slip April 29, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    Man, Edge Of Desire was the first song I had on repeat for about a week from that album. It’s my jam.

  2. Alex April 29, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

    so does this mean your gonna put lively-hood on hold cuz i understand what you mean when it comes to tryin to improve your music and being diff then other artist. The HSLB songs are beautiful and it shows your improving.

    • cassettecoast April 29, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

      No my album will not be put on hold. It will be ready for release real soon

  3. Boom 916 April 30, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    I don’t usually listen to anything but rap but this song is dope. What are other non-rap influences

  4. MC Kane April 30, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    Hell Yea My Favorite Song Off Tha Battle Studies Album.
    One Of John Mayer’s Songs That Inspire Me, Is Tha One Called “Quiet”…N Keep Doin Your Thing Coast, I Think U Goin Actually Succeed On Makin Tha Perfect Album.

  5. aag214 May 1, 2010 at 4:51 am #

    I agree rap doesn’t make me feel anything either. As I got older I watched rap stay the same age. I’m a thinking man and rap doesn’t make me think,dream or feel new things. Unfortunately too many people don’t expand their genre selection and taste the other music that is out there. I broke up with rap about three years ago, I honestly fell out of love with it. And Coast,I don’t consider you a rapper anymore so I will always follow until the day you sell out. Keep holding it down Coast

  6. chris May 1, 2010 at 4:51 am #

    john mayer is inspiration music foreal and fuck… as far as im concernd so is coast. my fav song by john is gravity the realist shit ever.

  7. Alex May 4, 2010 at 3:39 am #

    I was watching Coast’s TOL2 PREVIEW pt.1 on youtube and the begining is a beautiful song. You think that will make it on lively-hood or is it an old song. Because its really good and it shows you are more then just a rapper let me know, Thanks.keep doing what you doing and stay safe…

Leave a Reply

