Portishead – Glory Box

18 Apr

So I’m sure that by this point, anyone who has followed my music from the beginning has noticed a constant evolution. I’d like to think that the music I make now is like night and day when compared to my initial debut during my Dope House days. I can’t say that I’ve plotted out the exact direction that I’m taking my music but it’s clear to me that it’s on a course heading far away from what my industry friends are doing. I came up from nothing alongside a lot of talented artists. I love their music and I wish nothing but the best for them and their careers. I’m sure they’d say the same thing about me and my career. I did not just say that to announce my seperation from the people I’ve hustled with… so don’t start thinking like that. No, I only said it because I feel the need to really find a sound that I can truly be comfortable in while we all continue to pursue a common goal.

Here is a song from a band called Portishead. I’m sure many of y’all have heard of them or maybe only heard the name or whatever. I don’t want to outright say that I want to take my music in this direction, but I do feel like this band is implementing the right pieces to the puzzle. I’ve been structuring the HSLB in the same fashion as how this band is put together. (Not purposely tho, just coincidental) This song is called Glory Box. It’s a bit gloomy but it jams very hard. Maybe a year or two… or twelve down the line, this is what my music may sound like…. except catchier! Cause I’m still fly, bitch!

One Response to “Portishead – Glory Box”

  1. Slip May 23, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    What I’ve always thought was kinda funny, but player about this song is that throughout this performance; shes smoking a cig. haha

    **In no way does that comment mean that I support smoking; its a nasty habbit.

    Slip
    HSLB

Leave a Reply

